James S. Daniel

James Daniel is a native of Louisiana, where he spent his early years working on the family’s cattle and tree farm raising registered Angus cattle, and southern yellow pine as well as pecan trees. To be a successful endeavor, each of these vocations require profound dedication and demand intense labor. James received his undergraduate degree in American History from Louisiana State University and his Juris Doctorate from the University of Tulsa. James spent eight years in the Louisiana Army National Guard and was activated during Desert Storm with the First Battalion 156th Armor, a Heavy Armor/Armored Cavalry unit operating M1 Abrams Main Battle tanks. He served as the youngest Tank Commander and Platoon Sergeant/Staff NCO in Company D, 1-156th Armor from 1989 to 1995. He was decorated for his service receiving the National Defense Service Medal and the revered Louisiana War Cross. He was Honorably Discharged in 1995. He is an active member of the American Legion Post #1 in Tulsa. When not busy with his four daughters or traveling to far-flung places on the globe with his wife Tara, he is a Citizen Forester with Tulsa’s Up With Trees organization donating his skills as a Certified Forestry Assessor increasing Tulsa’s already beautiful “urban canopy". 

With eighteen years in service as an active attorney in Oklahoma, he has conducted numerous seminars and continuing certified legal education classes for claims professionals and attorneys alike. Handling exclusively defense cases, James has conducted jury trials in State Courts in Oklahoma as well as hundreds of workers’ compensation defense trials in Oklahoma. James chairs Holden Litigation's Workers' Compensation Practice Group.  

Areas of Practice

  • COVID-19 Litigation
  • Employment Law Defense
  • General Civil Defense Litigation
  • Insurance Litigation
  • Professional Negligence (Engineers, Architects)
  • Products Liability Defense
  • Premises Liability Defense
  • Construction Defect Litigation
  • Trucking Litigation
  • Workers’ Compensation Defense
  • Subrogation Defense

Honors and Awards

James Daniel was Vice President and later President of the Law and Medicine Society. He received numerous awards to include the University of Tulsa’s Law and Medicine Society’s “Outstanding Student Award” and “Service Award” for service and superior performance in the role of that group’s President.

Steven E. Holden

Eddie L. Carr

Kristen L. Lawhorn

Rebecca S. Woodward

James S. Daniel

Jane R. Cowdery

Laura J. Grabouski

Caleb S. McKee

Sofia Miranda

Orion A. Strand

David P. Page